Movie Details
The Lost Bladesman

The Lost Bladesman

In the final years of the Han, the court was under the sway of Prime Minister Cao Cao. When his troops defeated those of rival king Liu Bei, they took Liu Bei's two wives, future concubine and other members of his family hostage, as well as Liu Bei's sworn brother, Guan Yunchang. Cao Cao greatly admires Guan and wishes to retain him, but Guan's loyalty is with Liu Bei. When Cao Cao finds out Guan was once in love with Liu Bei's future concubine, Qilan, he sets a trap to lead Guan to temptation and betrayal. Guan escapes with Qilan. But to get to Liu Bei, they must cross five passes. Guan, who is tired of killing, is forced to fight his way through, leaving a trail of corpses. At the final crossing, they fall into a deadly ambush.

Language: Cantonese
Subtitle: Na
Classification: PG13
General Release Date: 28 Apr 2011
Genre: Action / Drama / Historical / Biography
Running Time: 1 Hour 49 Minutes
Distributor: RAM ENTERTAINMENT
Cast: Donnie Yen, Alex Fong Chung-Sun, Chin Siu Ho, Betty Sun
Director: Alan Mak, Felix Chong
Format: NA



"You may only select up to 5 movies for the My Favourite Movies list. Please remove movie(s) from My Favourite Movies list if you wish to select a new title."
Review
Writer: Thomas Ng Jun Tong

Writer Ratings:
Overall: 3.5 Out of 5
Cast: 3.5 Out of 5
Plot: 3.5 Out of 5
Effects: 3.0 Out of 5
Cinematography: 3.5 Out of 5

Watch this if you liked: “Red Cliff”, “Red Cliff 2”, “Three Kingdoms: Resurrection Of The Dragon”

Welcome to yet another delicious period serving of Chinese scalp trophies and headless corpses!

After Zhao Yun in "Three Kingdoms: Resurrection of The Dragon", comes another popular character from the Romance of the Three Kingdoms for the big screen - Guan Yun Chang. Guan Yun Chang is respected as the personification of loyalty and righteousness. He can be spotted in "Red Cliff" films but he is less mentioned in those films. This time, Guan Yun Chang's story is brought to the screen with "The Lost Bladesman".

Directors Alan Mak and Felix Chong chose the story of Guan Yun Chang in crossing five passes and slaying six generals as the storyline. This story is one of the most popular events in Guan Yun's lifetime. To make the story runs to the peak, Donnie Yen plays the character and also directs the fighting scenes.

The storyline is smooth and easy for audiences to understand. Besides fighting scenes, there is also romance Guan Yun Chang's story. However, the readers of Romance of The Three Kingdoms may realise that some parts are different with the original story. The sequence where Guan Yun Chang kills six generals is the same but the reason for doing so differs from the original story. The main attraction in this movie is the action choreography. The fight scenes are very impressive because the slightest mistake would bring great injury to the actors, especially in horseback action.

As for cast performances, Donnie Yen delivers a memorable portrayal of Guan Yun Chang and manages some signature moves, like when he uses his weapon, Guan Dao, and the way he waves his beard. Also, Jiang Wen as Cao Cao is a good decision and the actor captures the character's cunning disposition effortlessly. No one would know what he is thinking behind that look!

Overall, "The Lost Bladesman" is a decent account of the Guan Yun Chang story. Although the storyline is being modified here, it is still a good chance to watch how Guan Yun Chang's journey. For fans of Guan Yun Chang and Chinese period movies, don't miss it..

Cinema Online, 22 April 2011
   

 
 
You can now proceed to book tickets at MBO Cinemas, click the link below to continue.
Ok      Cancel
You are now leaving Cinema Online's website.
You can now proceed to book tickets at Premium-X Cinemas, click the link below to continue.
Ok      Cancel
You are now leaving Cinema Online's website.
You can now proceed to book tickets at TGV Cinemas, click the link below to continue.
Ok      Cancel
You are now leaving Cinema Online's website.
You can now proceed to book tickets at mmCineplexes Cinemas, click the link below to continue.
Ok      Cancel
You are now leaving Cinema Online's website.
You can now proceed to book tickets at Amerin Cineplex, click the link below to continue.
Ok      Cancel
You are now leaving Cinema Online's website.
You can now proceed to book tickets at Mega Cineplex, click the link below to continue.
Ok      Cancel
You are now leaving Cinema Online's website.
You can now proceed to book tickets at Blockbuster Cineplexes, click the link below to continue.
Ok      Cancel
You are now leaving Cinema Online's website.
You can now proceed to book tickets at Emperor Cinemas, click the link below to continue.
Ok      Cancel
You are now leaving Cinema Online's website.
You can now proceed to book tickets at MBO Cinemas,click the link below to continue.
Ok      Cancel
You are now leaving Cinema Online's website.