Koreans sweep AFA 2011 in HK

Koreans sweep AFA 2011 in HK

Lee Chang-Dong's Best Pic winner "Poetry" is about an elderly woman who discovers a passion for writing poems

22 Mar - Korea's Lee Chang-dong wins Best Director and Best Screenplay for his drama "Poetry" while his countryman Ha Jung-woo took Best Actor for his performance in "The Yellow Sea" at the fifth edition of the Asian Film Awards in Hong Kong.

The event, held annually since 2007, is marked by a very unlikely Best Picture winner - Apichatpong Weerasethakul's experimental indie "Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives" - and also the notable absence of Japanese guests due to the natural disaster that has struck Japan recently.

The star-studded awards ceremony saw 18 awards handed out at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre where Lisa S., Angela Chow and Archie Kao hosted the broadcast.

Another Korean who won a prize was Yoon Yeo-jeong for her supporting role in the twisted drama "The Housemaid". However, Best Actress nominee Jeon Do-yeon for the same movie lost out to Xu Fan's powerhouse performance in her filmmaker husband Feng Xiao Gang's earthquake drama "Aftershock".

Kim Dong-ho, the outgoing chairman and current honourary director of the Busan International Film Festival which he founded in 1996, won the Asian Film Award special prize for Outstanding Contribution to Asian Cinema.

Carina Lau and Tony Leung among Asian stars in attendance
According to a statement on the organiser's website, event sponsor Moët & Chandon has pledged to generously donate HK$ 10,000 for each Award category and each of the four special Awards distributed to support the Japan Disaster Relief, with a total of HK$180,000.

Here are the winners again by listing:

Best film: "Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives," Thailand
Best director: Lee Chang-dong, "Poetry"
Best actor: Ha Jung-woo, "The Yellow Sea"
Best actress: Xu Fan, "Aftershock"
Best newcomer: Mark Chao Yao Ting, "Monga"
Best supporting actor: Sammo Hung, "Ip Man 2"
Best supporting actress: Yoon Yeo-jeong, "The Housemaid"
Best screenplay: Lee Chang-dong, "Poetry"
Best cinematographer: Mark Lee, "Norwegian Wood"
Best production designer: Yuji Hayashida, "13 Assassins"
Best music score: Indian Ocean, "Peepli Live"
Best editing: Nam Na-young, "I Saw the Devil"
Best visual effects: Phil Jones, "Aftershock"
Best costume designer: William Chang, "Let the Bullets Fly"
Outstanding contribution to Asian cinema: Kim Dong-ho
Lifetime achievement: Raymond Chow


Related Links: