Marvel splits "Avengers 3" into two parts

Marvel splits "Avengers 3" into two parts

Phase 3 of Marvel movies to hit the cinemas starting 2016.

29 Oct – Marvel Studios has revealed at its recent event in Los Angeles the new phase of its superhero movies, which includes four new movies as well as four highly-anticipated sequels.

The Disney-owned studio also announced that the third instalment in the "Avengers" series will be split into two parts for 2018 and 2019, reports.

The four new movies are "Black Panther", "Captain Marvel", "Inhumans" and "Doctor Strange". While it was reported by Deadline yesterday that Benedict Cumberbatch will be the lead for "Doctor Strange", his name was omitted by the studio in the announcement, signaling that the deal is not sealed yet.

No further info was given about "Inhumans" but it was revealed that Chadwick Boseman, who portrayed James Brown in this year's "Get On Up", will be playing the titular role of "Black Panther". It is also confirmed that Carol Danvers will be holding the title of "Captain Marvel" in the upcoming movie, making her the first Marvel leading lady to get a solo superhero movie.

The concept art for "Black Panther".

"Captain America 3" is now officially called "Captain America: Civil War". The movie, starring Chris Evans and Robert Downey Jr, will be the first movie where Boseman's Black Panther will make its debut.

"Guardians of the Galaxy" fans need not wait as long as previously anticipated, as the sequel to the 2014 movie has been moved up from July to May 2017. Occupying the July slot will now be "Thor: Ragnarok", with both Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston returning as Thor and Loki.

Last but not least, "Avengers 3" is now split into "Avengers: Infinity War – Part I", set for release in May 2018, and "Avengers: Infinity War – Part II", which will be out a year after. Everybody's favourite green muscleman Hulk will be appearing in all Avengers movies, and Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige stated Hulk having its own stand-alone movie is still a possibility.

Here are the movies and their North American release date presented in chronological order:

6 May, 2016 – "Captain America: Civil War"
4 November, 2016 – "Doctor Strange"
5 May, 2017 – "Guardians of the Galaxy 2"
28 July, 2017 – "Thor: Ragnarok"
3 November, 2017 – "Black Panther"
6 July, 2018 – "Captain Marvel"
4 May, 2018 – "Avengers: Infinity War – Part I"
2 November, 2018 – "Inhumans"
3 May, 2019 – "Avengers: Infinity War – Part II"

Related Movies:
IRON MAN (30 Apr 2008)
IRON MAN 2 (30 Apr 2010)
Marvel's The Avengers (27 Apr 2012)
Captain America: The First Avenger (28 Jul 2011)
Marvel's Iron Man 3 (IMAX 3D) (26 Apr 2013)
Guardians Of The Galaxy (31 Jul 2014)
Captain America: The Winter Soldier (27 Mar 2014)
The Avengers: Age Of Ultron (23 Apr 2015)

Related Links: