"Merong" wins big at FFM24

"Merong" wins big at FFM24

CEO of KRU Studios Norman Abdul Halim accepting the Best Film Award from Datuk Seri Utama Dr Rais Yatim for "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa".

21 Nov – The recent 24th Festival Filem Malaysia (FFM24) saw KRU Studios' film "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa" winning the Best Film as well as six other awards that made it the frontrunner of the ceremony which was screened live nationwide.

Held at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre (PICC), "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa", the other six awards the epic historical feature won were; Best Original Score, Best Costume, Best Cinematography, Best Visual Effects, Best Movie Poster and Best Theme Song.

Other than "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa", Skop Productions' "KL Gangster" was a close second, winning 5 awards that included a Best Director award for Syamsul Yusof and other awards for Best Supporting Actor (Shofi Jikan), Best Screenplay, Best Sound Effects and Best Editing.

The Best Actor went to Shaheizy Sam for "Kongsi" and Best Actress to Siti Shahreza for "Janin".

Here is the full list of winners from FFM24:

Best Film : "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa"

Best Director : Syamsul Yusof ("KL Gangster")

Best Actor : Shaheizy Sam ("Kongsi")

Best Actress : Siti Shahreza ("Janin")

Best Supporting Actor : Shofi Jikan ("KL Gangster")

Best Supporting Actress : Faezah Elai ("Cun")

Best Art Direction : Anuar Paharudin/Kek Ting Lam ("Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa")

Best Cinematography : Mohd Moor Mohd Kassim ("Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa")

Best Original Film : Martias Mohd Ali ("Libas")

Best Screenplay : Syamsul Yusof ("KL Gangster")

Best Sound Effects : Hisham Jupri/ Rizal Ashreff ("KL Gangster")

Best Editing : Hisham Jupri/Syamsul Yusof ("KL Gangster")

Best Costume : "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa" (Rosada Abdul Hamid)

Best Original Score : "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa" (Edry Abd Halim)

Best Non-Malay Film : "Great Day" (Woohoo Pictures Sdn Bhd)

Best Animated Film : "Altitude Alto" (Mushroomhead - Multimedia Uni)

Best Short Film : "The Other One" (Ng Ken Kin)

Best New Director : Jurey Latiff Rosli – "Libas" (MDAG Marketing)

Best Theme Song : Edry Abdul Halim – "Sedetik Lebih" (KRU Studios)

Best New Actor : Taiyuddin Bakar – "Hantu Bonceng" (Excellent Pictures)

Best New Actress : Nadiya Nisaa – "Cun" (Tayangan Unggul)

Best Child Actor : Mia Sara Nasuha – "Sekali Lagi" (Metrowealth Pictures)

Best Visual Effects : Yusry Abdul Halim – "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa" (KRU Studios)

Best Poster : "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa" (KRU Studios)

Special Jury Award : Sidek Hussin

Special Jury Award :  "Libas"

Special Jury Award : The late Zami Ismail

Special Jury Award : "Janin"

Box Office Award : "KL Gangster" (RM11.6 juta)

Astro First Award : "Kongsi"

Special Achievement Award : Datuk Michelle Yeoh

Lifetime Achievement Award : Senator Tan Seri (Dr) Datuk Dr Jins Shamsuddin