"Adiwira Ku" is the Best Film at FFM 29

"Adiwira Ku" is the Best Film at FFM 29

The team behind "Adiwira Ku"!

24 Sep – "Adiwira Ku" is named Best Film of the night at the 29th Malaysian Film Festival (FFM 29) which was held at the Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC) on Saturday, 23 September 2017.

The film also bagged Best Actress Award via Sangeeta Krishnasamy and Best Original Story via writer Jason Chong, who described the film as underdog.

"The film is an underdog story, and tonight we are the underdogs," said Jason Chong who didn't expect that "Adiwira Ku" would take home the huge award.

Director Eric Ong added that he never thought that the film would win because they were competing with huge titles like "Hanyut" and "Redha".

Tunku Mona Riza is Most Promising Director at FMM 29.

Meanwhile, director Dain Said who won Best Director is contented even though "Interchange" did not win the Best Film award.

"For me, the two categories are almost the same, and I'm already very honoured to have received this award."

Director Dain Said is grateful to his team.

"There are so many people I want to thank, people who help me throughout this journey and gave me the opportunity to work with them. I'm very grateful," the director confessed.

"Interchange" is also the film that took home the most awards of the night with four awards including Best Supporting Actor via Shaheizy Sam, Best Cinematography, and Best Art Arrangement.

Husband and wife Nam Ron and June Lojong, as well as their on-screen son Harith Haziq,
each takes home an award.

The film ties with "Redha" which also won four awards including Most Promising Director via Tunku Mona Riza, Best Actor via Nam Ron, Most Promising Actress via June Lojong, and Best Child actor via Harith Haziq.

The following is the complete winner list from FFM 29 awards ceremony:

Box Office Film – "Abang Long Fadil 2"
Best Costume Design – "Hanyut" (Akma Suriati Awang)
Best Sound Mixing – "Hanyut" (Daniel)
Best Cinematography – "Interchange" (Jordan Chiam)
Best Editing – "J Revolusi" (Nazim Shah)
Best Art Arrangement – "Interchange" (Zaharah Nakibullah)
Best Child Actor – Harith Haziq ("Redha")
Most Promising Actress – June Lojong ("Redha")
Most Promising Actor – John Tan ("You Mean the World to Me")
Most Promising Director – Tunku Mona Riza ("Redha")
Best Music Score – Daid Koon ("You Mean the World to Me")
Best Supporting Actress – Diana Danielle ("Hanyut")
Best Supporting Actor – Shaheizy Sam ("Interchange")
Best Original Story – "Adiwira Ku" (Jason Chong)
Best Screenplay – Saw Teong Hin ("You Mean the World to Me")
Special Jury Award – "Desolasi"
Special Jury Award – "Shuttle Life"
Special Jury Award – "Pekak"
Best Actor – Nam Ron ("Redha")
Best Actress – Sangeetha Krishnasamy ("Adiwira Ku")
Best Director – Dain Said ("Interchange")
Best Film – "Adiwira Ku"

Related Links: